top of page

Missing in Inaction: Florida’s Environmental Regulation Commission Hasn't Met in 5 Years

Following Waterway Advocates' open letter to Governor Ron DeSantis and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection, the Miami New Times published an article today with a wealth of new information.

Here are some updates:

  • You may not be able to find the current members of Florida's Environmental Regulation Commission on the State's website, but you can find them below:

  • Thomas K. Frazer (Dean of the College of Marine Science at the University of South Florida)

  • Cari Roth (Vice President of Governmental and Regulatory Affairs at Lykes Bros.)

  • Jim McCarthy (President of the North Florida Land Trust)

  • Eric Buermann (Former Chairman of the South Florida Water Management District)

  • Frank Gummey (Former City Attorney of New Smyrna Beach)

  • Joe Joyce (Associate Vice President of the University of South Florida's Institute of Food and Agricultural Sciences)

  • Despite the Commission not meeting since 2017, "Gov. Ron DeSantis appointed four people to serve on the commission," in March 2021.

Many thanks to Alex DeLuca for the excellent reporting on this issue. Read the full article here.

bottom of page